Our Priority Localities

Locality Planning is a statutory requirement of the Community Empowerment Act.  It requires Community Planning Aberdeen (CPA) to identify localities, with a maximum population size of 30,000 residents, where people experience significantly poorer outcomes than other people across the city and Scotland as a result of socio-economic disadvantage. Community Planning Aberdeen identified three priority localities in Aberdeen. They are:

  • Torry
  • Middlefield, Mastrick, Cummings Park, Northfield and Heathryfold
  • Seaton, Woodside and Tillydrone

For each of these localities a locality plan must be developed setting out what the priority outcomes for improvement within the locality are. They must also detail how, by when and what difference they will make for local residents over ten years. These plans underpin the LOIP.
Locality Plans were developed with the communities in February and March 2017 after a number of engagement events.  Locality Partnerships Boards were established in April 2017 to oversee the ongoing development and delivery of the Locality Plans 2017-27. The first full Annual Outcome Improvement Reports against each Locality Plan will be produced later this year.
You can find more information about each of the Locality Partnerships on their own pages.